Buena Onda - 2006 - Todos os direitos reservados.

Discografia: Grupo Comboio.

Release: Grupo Comboio

Comboio was created in 1998 by a group of seven students from the course of Popular Music at UNICAMP (Campinas University). Back then the practice of improvisation, composition and arrangements were the reasons for the creation of the band. For the first four years of its existence the band was very connected to the academic universe and going through constant transformations. Throughout this time the band went through different formations. In its first CD, ‘Sarado”, released in October of 2002, the band was formed by eleven musicians.

The constant change on the concerts song list is the result of research, experimentations and of the musical references of each member. Each arranger/composer of the band manifests his references individually, always trying to emphasize the musical individuality of each musician in its production. This way of thinking the arrangements, important for the sound unity of the band, makes each member an artistic reference.

Already in its first CD the band made clear its musical identity, which became a constant source of compliments from musicians and the specialized critic, which is a reflex of the band’s philosophy since its formation: study and research trying to reach new musical horizons. From 2003 on Comboio went through a period of constant transformation in formation and objectives, which led to a musical maturing process and resulted in its actual formation that counts a total of twelve members.

This musical maturing period was consolidated with the recording of their second album ‘COMBOIO’. Now, with seven years of existence, Comboio accumulates several passages at the SESCs Paulista, Consolacao, Ribeirao Preto, Santo Andre, Sorocaba, Campinas and important cultural centers in the state of Sao Paulo such as: the extinct Supremo Musical, Centro Cultural Sao Paulo, Centro de Convivencia Cultural e Espaço Cultural CPFL both in Campinas and the Conservatorio Musical de Tatui. In this second album the band presents some compositions by members of the band and some arrangements for songs of established composers of Brazilian music.

Jair Teixeira - Alto Sax, Soprano, Flute and Piccolo
Cacá Malaquias - Tenor Sax, Alto and Pífano
Marcelo Toledo - Tenor Sax and Flute
Beto Sporleder - Soprano Sax, Baritone and Flute
Gê Ribeiro - Trumpet and Flugelhorn
Rubinho Antunes - Trumpet and Flugelhorn
Dico Las Casas - Trombone
Adriano Contó - Piano
Julio Caliman - Guitar
Guilherme Marques - Drums
Rui Barossi - Acustic and Electric Bass
Vinícius Barros - Percussion

Instrumental music, with privilege for Brazilian music..

- ”Sarado” - (2003) 
- “Comboio” - (2005)                             


Program information.
Descripción: With more than 10 years on road and 2 recorded albums, this virtuous group shows its own jobs  " Sarado" and "Comboio". The 12 members are from different parts of Brazil, with various styles, making a rich and interesting mix, which results in a really tuned group with a delicious sonority!.
Time: 60 min.
Site: www.grupocomboio.com
e-mail: grupocomboio@grupocomboio.com

<<Episode #08 - 2007 - Grupo Comboio: “Delicious sonority.