Buena Onda - 2006 - Todos os direitos reservados.


Discografia: Quaternaglia.

Release: Quaternaglia

Formed by the Brazilian guitarists Fernando Lima, João Luiz, Fabio Ramazzina and Sidney Molina, Quaternaglia Guitar Quartet has been a consistent international reference of artistic excellence and magnificence of repertoire written for four guitars. Throughout the past twelve years, the group has established a real canon of original unheard-of pieces, most of them written by Brazilian composers such as Egberto Gismonti, Almeida Prado and Paulo Bellinati. The group performance started to call the attention of the international critics in 1998, after it had been awarded the "Ensemble Prize" at the International Guitar Contest of Havana (Cuba), and after its participation in several important guitar and chamber music series in the United States, such as Guitarists of the World, the American Guitar Society Concert Series (Los Angeles), Fort Worth Classical Guitar Society (Dallas/Fort Worth), Friends of Music (Stamford), and Round Top Festival Hill.

The release of the album Forrobodó in Europe, by Carmo/ECM (2000), and produced by Egberto Gismonti, was the first record of an original repertoire of great virtuosity - almost integrally dedicated to the quartet - and a reference to some of the most important guitar ensembles at the present time. The album Antique, released in 1996 including transcriptions of Renaissance, baroque and classical pieces, was one of the finalists of the "Sharp Prize", in the "Classical Music" category, and prompted the group to receive the "Carlos Gomes Prize" given by the Culture Department of São Paulo, as the best chamber ensemble of the year (1997).

According to the critics of the Los Angeles Times: "Quaternaglia Guitar quartet was attracted by opportunity to add experience and spice to a young genre, creating a canon of fire" and "an aura of purity pervaded the concert of the Brazilian guitar quartet, that met all the requirements with equanimity and intelligence in its California debut". The critics of the Fort Worth Star Telegram wrote: "The four Brazilians performed the entire concert from memory and with a precise interaction" and "not a note was out of place, and every nuance of interpretation was in harmony at this concert that thrilled the crowd".

The first album of the group released in 1995 by JHO includes the first recording of the transcription written by Sergio Abreu of the Bachianas Brasileiras n. 1 composed by Villa-Lobos and the complete works for guitar quartet by Leo Brouwer. The album became an example of artistic production for many other Brazilian classical guitar artists during the last half of the nineties. The risky and mature proposal of Quaternaglia's chamber guitar work was immediately recognized by the specialized publications such as the magazines Classical Guitar and Les Cahiers de la Guitare.

Since its première abroad at the International Guitar Festival in Montevideo (1996), the group has performed in various cities such as Buenos Aires, Caracas, Havana, New York, Atlanta, Miami, Los Angeles, Washington, Dallas, Houston, Princeton, Phoenix and Tucson. It's also important to highlight Quaternaglia's performance as soloist of many Brazilian orchestras. Among the most important pieces of its concert repertoire, we can mention Concierto Andaluz by Joaquín Rodrigo, performed during the celebrations of the composer's birth centenary at Rio de Janeiro's Municipal Theatre, the Concert for Four Guitars and Orchestra written specially for the group by Estércio Marquez Cunha, and the first performance in Brazil of the Concerto Itálico by Leo Brouwer.

Quaternaglia launched in 2004 the album Presença (Paulus Music), with pieces written by the Brazilian composers Radamés Gnattali, Sergio Molina, Paulo Tiné, Rodrigo Vitta, Tom Jobim and Douglas Lora, and performed the world première of the guitar quartet and string orchestra pieces composed by Egberto Gismonti and Sérgio Molina specially for the 1st International Guitar Festival at Round Top (USA). During the 2005-2006 season the quartet launched its first DVD, Quaternaglia (Eldorado), including a live recital recorded at Itau Cultural Hall in São Paulo (Brazil).

- ”Quaternaglia” (1995) -
- ”Antique” - (1996)
- “Forrobodó” - (2000)
- “Presença” - (2004)
- DVD - “Quaternaglia” - Ao Vivo - Projeto Toca Brasil (2005) -


Program Information:
On this month's show we receive the award guitar quartet “Quaternaglia”. On this interview the violinist Sidney Molina talks about the group trajectory since its foundation, until nowadays. With four CDs and one DVD launched, this brilliant group has being playing in all country and foreign places, with a repertory that goes from erudite to MPB, in partnership with compositors as Leo Brouwer, Egberto Gismonti, Paulo Bellinati, Sergio Molina , among anothers. Listen now the interview using the icons below.
Time:60 min.
Musical Style: Classical Music, brazilian music.


Site: www.quaternaglia.com.br - e-mail: quaternaglia@quaternaglia.com.br


<<Episode #10 - 2007 - Quaternaglia: “A wonderful styles variety”.